Round 2 Studentships


In March 2014 the Network launched the 2nd Studentship round. Some of the funded studentships include (PI and project title):

Prof Hoffmann,  Increasing the selectivity and potency of a novel anthelmintic chemical entity.

Dr Westwell, Radiosynthesis of 18 F-labelled pro-nucleotides (ProTides) for Positron Emission Tomography (PET) imaging.

Dr Moseley, Pharmaceutical evaluation of novel tiglianes as modulators of dermal fibroblast-myofibroblast differentiation, scar formation and fibrosis; and elucidation of their underlying mechanisms of action.

Prof Mahenthiralingam, Development of vietnamycin: a novel Burkholderia antibiotic targeting mupirocin resistant methicillin resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA).

Prof Mur, Identifying new antimicrobial drugs in microbes from extreme environments.

Prof Mur, Targeting natural products to counter the challenge of MRSA.

Dr Bugert, Biological evaluation of [L] ddBCNAs as novel cell-targeting antivirals.

Prof Allemann, An Innovative Approach to New Antimicrobial Drugs.

Dr Young, Structure-based design of human P2X4-selective small-molecule modulators.

Dr Pertusati, Diastereoselective Synthesis of Phosphoroamidate Prodrugs.